2014 Obie Award Winners Announced

2014-obie-logoYou get an award! And you get an award! Who isn’t getting an award? While we mostly find ourselves honoring Broadway and Off-Broadway during this season, we want to make sure we include everyone who helped produce top-notch theatre this past season in New York! Cue The Obie Awards! Honoring Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, the 59th Annual Obie Awards took place Monday night May 19th at Webster Hall In Greenwich Village. Today, Luner on Theatre brings you a complete list of your 2014 Obie Award Winners!

The Obie Awards are theatrical awards presented annually to theatre groups and productions in New York City by The Village Voice. The awards were founded by Ed Fancher and first presented in 1956. When they began, only Off-Broadway productions were eligible. In 1964, The Voice made Off-Off-Broadway productions eligible as well. The awards have no fixed categories. No nominations are ever announced beforehand and not ever single award is presented annually.

Here is a complete list of the 2014 Obie Award Winners:

Marylouise Burke
Sustained Excellence of Performance

Johanna Day

John Ellison Conlee
The (Curious Case of the) Watson Intelligence

K. Todd Freeman
Fetch Clay, Make Man

John Earl Jelks
Sunset Baby / Fetch Clay, Make Man

Mia Katigbak
Awake and Sing

Sydney Lucas
Fun Home 

Chris Myers
An Octoroon

Larry Pine
A Public Reading of an Unproduced Screenplay about the Death of Walt Disney

Will Eno
The Open House

Lisa Kron (Author), Jeanine Tesori (Composer), and Sam Gold (Director)
Fun Home

James Macdonald

Love and Information

Oliver Butler
The Open House 

Liesl Tommy

Ben Rubin
Projections for Arguendo

Emmanuel Brown and Sonya Tayeh
Fight Direction and Choreography for Kung Fu

Eric Southern
Lighting Design for The Correspondent

Justin Townsend
Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

Mallory Catlett
This Was the End

Heather Christian (Music), Jiyoun Chang (Lighting) and Hannah Wasileski (Projections)
The World Is Round

Rattlestick Playwrights Theater and Lucy Thurber
The Hill Town Plays

Abrons Arts Center

600 Highwaymen
48 Hours in Harlem

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins

Appropriate and An Octoroon 

Estelle Parsons

Congratulations to all of the 2014 Obie Award Winners! From all of the winners above, I think it is easy to say this was another fantastic season for Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway! Both have served as a space for artists to push the boundaries with theatrical productions to untested limits. Their success has led to follow-up engagements elsewhere not only in New York but in theatrical venues throughout the entire nation. Also, history was made last night at the Obie Awards! Sydney Lucas became the youngest winner ever in the 59 years of the awards existence. Lucas is only 10 years old and was honored for her performance in Fun Home at The Public earlier this year.

Until next year, we look forward to seeing what Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway produces in the year to come! Judges for the 2014 Obie Awards include Michael Feingold, Nicky Paraiso, Tonya Pinkins, Michael Sommers and Rick Sordelet. The Obie Awards chairman is Kirsten Childs, who is also a judge. Stay tuned to Luner on Theatre for our awards season coverage! Visit our Awards Season Page for more! For more information, visit The Village Voice’s Official Obie Award WebsiteAnd of course, check out the rest of Luner on Theatre for all your theatre news you don’t only need but want to know and so much more!


Fun Home Took Big Honors at the 2014 Obie Awards

Fun Home Took Big Honors at the 2014 Obie Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s