2014 Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced

1Step One; Nominations! Step Two; Winners! The New York theatre awards season is well underway with all of the nominations for potential awards across the board this year now being announced! Now, as the true countdown begins to The 2014 Tony Awards, the winners for all of the other major awards will be announced along the way! Before we head to the Broadway and mixed Broadway/Off-Broadway awards, we begin solely Off-Broadway with the Lucille Lortel Awards! Today, Luner on Theatre brings you a full list of the 2014 Lucille Lortel Awards winners!

The Lucille Lortel Awards are awards that recognize excellence in theatre Off-Broadway. The awards, which began in 1986, are named after famous actress and producer Lucille Lortel. Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.

The full list of 2014 Lucille Lortel Award winners include:

Outstanding Play

Bad Jews
Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company
Written by Joshua Harmon

Produced by Lincoln Center Theater
Written by Bruce Norris

The Night Alive
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company
Written by Conor McPherson

*The Open House
Produced by Signature Theatre
Written by Will Eno

Outstanding Musical

*Fun Home
Produced by The Public Theater
Music by Jeanine Tesori, Book and Lyrics by Lisa Kron
Based on the Alison Bechdel book

Here Lies Love
Produced by The Public Theater
Concept and Lyrics by David Byrne, Music by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim,
Additional Music by Tom Ganey and J Pardo

Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Produced by Howard & Janet Kagan, Paula Marie Black, John Logan, Lisa Matlin, Daveed Frazier,
Tom Smedes, Vertical Ent./Roman Gambourg/Lev Gelfer
Written by Dave Malloy

What’s It All About
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop
Music by Burt Bacharach, Lyrics by Hal David and Others
Conceived by Kyle Riabko and David Lane Seltzer

Outstanding Revival

*Good Person of Szechwan
Produced by The Public Theater and The Foundry Theatre
Written by Bertolt Brecht, Translation by John Willett

Hand to God
Produced by MCC Theater
Written by Robert Askins

London Wall
Produced by Mint Theater Company
Written by John Van Druten

The Model Apartment
Produced by Primary Stages
Written by Donald Margulies

The Weir
Produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre
Written by Conor McPherson

Outstanding Solo Show

*Buyer & Cellar
Produced by Darren Bagert, Dan Shaheen, Ted Snowdon, Daryl Roth, Martin Massman, Pat Flicker Addiss,
Doug Nevin, Joan Raffe & Jhett Tolentino, Andrew Tobias, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater
Written by Jonathan Tolins
Performed by Michael Urie

How I Learned What I Learned
Produced by Signature Theatre
Written by August Wilson, Co-conceived with Todd Kreidler, in collaboration with Ruben-Santiago Hudson
Performed by Ruben Santiago-Hudson

Satchmo at the Waldorf
Produced by Long Wharf Theatre, Shakespeare and Company, Scott and Roxanne Bok, Roz and Jerry Meyer, Ronald Guttman, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, John LaMattina
Written by Terry Teachout
Performed by John Douglas Thompson

Outstanding Director
Rachel Chavkin, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Lear deBessonet, Good Person of Szechwan
Sam Gold, Fun Home
*Alex Timbers, Here Lies Love
Moritz von Stuelpnagel, Hand to God

Outstanding Choreographer
Martha Clarke, Chéri
Marguerite Derricks, Heathers: The Musical
Danny Mefford, Fun Home
Annie-B Parson, Here Lies Love
*Sonya Tayeh, Kung Fu

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
*Steven Boyer, Hand to God
Jon DeVries, Regular Singing
Peter Friedman, The Open House
Taylor Mac, Good Person of Szechwan
Armando Riesco, The Happiest Song Plays Last

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
*Tracee Chimo, Bad Jews
Diane Davis, The Model Apartment
Carolyn McCormick, The Open House
Laurie Metcalf, Domesticated
Andrus Nichols, Bedlam’s Hamlet and Saint Joan

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical
Jeff Blumenkrantz, Murder For Two
*Michael Cerveris, Fun Home
Jose Llana, Here Lies Love
Kyle Riabko, What’s It All About
Conrad Ricamora, Here Lies Love

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical
Sydney Lucas, Fun Home
*Ruthie Ann Miles, Here Lies Love
Alexandra Socha, Fun Home
Phillipa Soo, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Barrett Wilbert Weed, Heathers: The Musical

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Carson Elrod, The Explorers Club
Philip Ettinger, Bad Jews
Russell G. Jones, The Call
*Jeremy Shamos, Dinner With Friends
Fred Weller, Reasons to Be Happy

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Hannah Bos, The Open House
Lynn Cohen, I Remember Mama
*Lisa Kron, Good Person of Szechwan
Molly Ranson, Bad Jews
Sarah Stiles, Hand to God

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Heath Calvert, Nobody Loves You
Nick Choksi, Bunty Berman Presents…
Blake DeLong, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Noah Hinsdale, Fun Home
*Lucas Steele, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Uzo Aduba, Venice
Brittain Ashford, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Melody Butiu, Here Lies Love
*Judy Kuhn, Fun Home
Shaina Taub, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

Outstanding Scenic Design
Miriam Buether, Love and Information
David Korins, Here Lies Love
*Mimi Lien, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Clint Ramos, Appropriate
Matt Saunders, Good Person of Szechwan

Outstanding Costume Design
Gabriel Berry and Andrea Hood, Love and Information
*Clint Ramos, Here Lies Love
Anita Yavich, The Explorers Club
*Paloma Young, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Catherine Zuber, Far From Heaven

Outstanding Lighting Design
Daniel Ionazzi, The Jacksonian
Bradley King, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Ben Stanton, Fun Home
*Justin Townsend, Here Lies Love
Japhy Weideman, What’s It All About

Outstanding Sound Design
*M.L. Dogg and Cody Spencer, Here Lies Love
Clive Goodwin, What’s It All About
Matt Hubbs, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812
Ryan Rumery, The Hatmaker’s Wife
Christopher Shutt, Love and Information

While all of the awards listed above were competitive categories, the following awards were also presented last night;

Lifetime Achievement Award: Robyn Goodman (Broadway Producer)

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee: Richard Nelson (Playwright)

Congratulations to all of the winners of the 2014 Lucille Lortel Awards! Even if you did not win last night, you should be proud of your nomination and contribution to the Off-Broadway theatre scene over the past year! Stick with Luner on Theatre as we bring you unprecedented Awards Season coverage of the theatre awards in New York unlike any other blog! Photos, articles and more are all coming your way as we count down to the biggest and best celebration of the year for New York Theatre, The 2014 Tony Awards! For complete coverage, visit Luner on Theatre’s Awards Season Page. For more information, visit The Lucille Lortel Awards Official Website. Be sure to follow Luner on Theatre on Facebook and Follow Us on Twitter as well! We are constantly updating these pages with information! And of course, check out the rest of Luner on Theatre for all your theatre news you don’t only need but want to know and so much more!

Fun Home took the Lortel for Outstanding Musical

Fun Home took the Lortel for Outstanding Musical

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s