Tony Time: 2013 Special Tony Awards

TonyAwards-328x253.328.254Less then 48 hours to go until the 2013 Tony Awards! While we have spent a lot of time these past few weeks talking about everyone nominated for the awards, there are several awards that will be given out on Sunday night that no one else is nominated for. Each year, The Tony Awards committee decides on several major awards that they bestow on an individual, a small group or a company for recognition in a certain area of theatre. Today, Luner on Theatre brings you the winners of the non-competitive 2013 Tony Awards!

Each year, The Tony Awards committee selects a winner, small group of individuals or a company for several awards they present which cannot be competed for. These awards include the Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theatre, the Regional Theatre Award, the Isabelle Stevenson Award and the Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre.

Here are the recipients of the 2013 Tony Awards in non-competitive categories:

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre
Bernard Gersten
Paul Libin
Ming Cho Lee

Regional Theatre Award
Huntington Theatre Company, Boston, MA

Isabelle Stevenson Award
Larry Kramer

Tony Honor for Excellence in the Theatre
Career Transition For Dancers
William Craver
Peter Lawrence
The Lost Colony
The four actresses who created the title role of Matilda The Musical on Broadway – Sophia Gennusa, Oona Laurence, Bailey Ryon and Milly Shapiro


The Tony Awards committee also announced this past week that they will be honoring Michael Bloomberg, the current mayor of New York City, with a Tony Honor as well.

All of the these Tony Awards will be given at the ceremony on Sunday June 9th live from Radio City Music Hall except for the Tony Honor Awards. The recipients of the Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre will be celebrated on June 8th, 2013 at the Tony Awards cocktail party.

Heather Hitchens, executive director of The American Theatre Wing said;

Select1_FINAL.tif.644x2848_q100“We are truly ecstatic to announce this year’s recipients of the Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre. Career Transition for Dancers, Bill Craver, Peter Lawrence and The Lost Colony are all exceptional members of the theatre community – and more than that, they are part of the fabric of American theatre history.”

Charlotte St. Martin, executive director of The Broadway League, also added;

Charlotte+St+Martin+65th+Annual+Tony+Award+VcHtBMJ5OTYl“The Tony Eve Cocktail Party is the kick-off celebration to the Tony Awards. It gives us a chance to pay homage to the best of Broadway – both those on-stage and off – as well as to the members of the community who help bring magic to the stage each and every night.”

Congratulations to all of the award winners!

With less then 48 hours until the 2013 Tony Awards, Luner on Theatre is bringing you unlimited coverage through Sunday night!  Click here to check out Luner on Theatre’s Entire 2013 Tony Awards Coverage! Stay tuned to Luner on Theatre for constant updates all weekend long on Facebook, Twitter and right here on the Blog. For more information, check out The Tony Awards Official Website! Be sure to check Luner on Theatre on Facebook and Follow Us on Twitter as well! We are constantly updating these pages with information! And of course, check out the rest of Luner on Theatre for all your theatre news you don’t only need but want to know!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s