2012 Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced

Our Awards Season Coverage Continues! As promised, Luner on Theatre is not only bringing you your 2012 theatre season award nominees but award winners as well! We will be able to trace over the course of these next few weeks which shows seem to be making all the buzz on and off Broadway! Today, Luner on Theatre is bringing you the complete list of your 2012 Lucille Lortel Award winners!

The Lucille Lortel Awards are a selection of awards that honor Off-Broadway productions in a variety of categories. The awards first began in 1986 and have been awarded ever since. Producers from the League Off-Broadway as well as those from the Lucille Lortel Foundation as well as the Theatre DEvelopment Fund help make the event possible each year. Mario Cantone hosted the 2012 awards ceremony held at Skirball Center. Sons of the Prophet, The Cherry Orchard, An Iliad and Once were all leaders in the winning category.

Below is a Full List of your 2012 Lucille Lortel Award Winners:

Outstanding Play
Blood and Gifts – Produced by Lincoln Center Theater; Written by J. T. Rogers
Milk Like Sugar – Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Women’s Project Theater; Written by Kirsten Greenidge
*Sons of the Prophet – Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company; Written by Stephen Karam
The Big Meal – Produced by Playwrights Horizons; Written by Dan LeFranc
The School For Lies – Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by David Ives

Outstanding Musical
*Once – Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Book by Enda Walsh, Music and Lyrics by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová
Queen of the Mist – Produced by Transport Group; Words and Music by Michael John LaChiusa
SILENCE! The Musical – Produced by Victoria Lang, Rich Affannato, Donna Trinkoff in association with Scott Kirschenbaum, Theater Mogul, Kitefliers Studio and Terry Schnuck; Music and Lyrics by Jon Kaplan and Al Kaplan, Book by Hunter Bell, Adapted from the screenplay Silence! The Musical by Jon and Al Kaplan
The Blue Flower – Produced by Second Stage Theatre; By Jim Bauer and Ruth Bauer
The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World – Produced by Playwrights Horizons and New York Theatre Workshop; Book by Joy Gregory, Music by Gunnar Madsen, Lyrics by Joy Gregory and Gunnar Madsen, Story by Joy Gregory, Gunnar Madsen, and John Langs
Outstanding Revival
Blood Knot – Produced by Signature Theatre; Written by Athol Fugard
The Lady from Dubuque – Produced by Signature Theatre; Written by Edward Albee
Look Back in Anger – Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company; Written by John Osborne
*The Cherry Orchard – Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by Anton Chekhov, Translated by John Christopher Jones
The Maids – Produced by Red Bull Theater; Written by Jean Genet, Translated by Bernard Frechtman

Outstanding Solo Show
*An Iliad – Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Denis O’Hare and Lisa Peterson; Performed by Denis O’Hare and Stephen Spinella; Based on Homer’s The Iliad translated by Robert Fagles
The Devil’s Music: The Life and Blues of Bessie Smith – Produced by Penguin Rep Theatre and Edmund Gaynes in association with Lizanne and Don Mitchell; Written by Angelo Parra; Performed by Miche Braden

Outstanding Director
Jo Bonney, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
David Cromer, Tribes
Sam Gold, Look Back in Anger
*Sam Gold, The Big Meal
John Tiffany, Once

Outstanding Choreographer
Chase Brock, The Blue Flower
Bill Castellino, Ionescopade
Christopher Gattelli, SILENCE! The Musical
*Steven Hoggett, Once
Annie-B Parson, The Broken Heart

Outstanding Lead Actor
*Santino Fontana, Sons of the Prophet
Russell Harvard, Tribes
Hamish Linklater, The School For Lies
Jefferson Mays, Blood and Gifts
Jay O. Sanders, Titus Andronicus

Outstanding Lead Actress
*Sanaa Lathan, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Cristin Milioti, Once
Carey Mulligan, Through a Glass Darkly
Molly Ranson, Carrie
Mary Testa, Queen of the Mist

Outstanding Featured Actor
David Wilson Barnes, The Big Meal
*Adam Driver, Look Back in Anger
Alvin Epstein, The Cherry Orchard
Peter Francis James, The Lady from Dubuque
Jeff Perry, Tribes

Outstanding Featured Actress
 Anita Gillette, The Big Meal
Kimberly Hébert Gregory, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Marin Mazzie, Carrie
*Tonya Pinkins, Milk Like Sugar
Mare Winningham, Tribes

Outstanding Scenic Design
Bob Crowley, Once
*Lauren Helpern, 4000 Miles
Andrew Lieberman, Look Back in Anger
Adrianne Lobel, Galileo
David Zinn, The Select (The Sun Also Rises)

Outstanding Costume Design
*ESosa, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Toni-Leslie James, Milk Like Sugar
William Ivey Long, The School For Lies
Ilona Somogyi, Maple and Vine
Catherine Zuber, Death Takes a Holiday

Outstanding Lighting Design
*Natasha Katz, Once
Keith Parham, Tribes
Justin Townsend, Unnatural Acts
*David Weiner, Through a Glass Darkly
Scott Zielinski, An Iliad

Outstanding Sound Design
 Mark Bennett, An Iliad
Clive Goodwin, Once
Daniel Kluger, Tribes
*Matt Tierney and Ben Williams, The Select (The Sun Also Rises)
David Van Tieghem, Through a Glass Darkly

Congratulations to Everyone! Both those nominated and the 2012 award winners should be proud of their accomplishments! Luner on Theatre will continue to bring you 2012 awards season coverage! Be sure to check out our Awards Season Page for specific coverage and count down to Broadway’s biggest night, The 2012 Tony Awards! For more information, check out the Lucille Lortel Awards Official Website. And of course, check out the rest of Luner on Theatre for your theatre news you don’t only need but want to know and more!

Sons of the Prophet Received the Award for Outstanding Play

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s